Everything You Need to Know About Integration Princely States!

Integration Princely States: At the time of India’s independence, the country was divided into princely states of 564 and Sardar Patel was asked to join the Indian Union at that time. As per the Independence Act 1974, all the states in India were liberated to either choose to join the Pakistan Domicile or Indian Union. Let us know deeply about the Integration Princely States and India achieved it.

Everything You Need to Know About Integration Princely States!

Integration Princely States

 The Integration Princely States of 564 in India!

Prior to the Mangal Pandey’s revolt in 1857, the East India Company has captured many Indian kingdoms and decide to minimize them into subordinate positions to the company. This subsidiary alliance was launched and headed by Lord Wellesley and Dalhousie which was introduced by Doctrine of Lapse played a pivotal role in that annexation of kingdoms in India. But, still, there were some of the kingdoms which were independent but they were working the rule of British.

After the Revolt in 1857, East India Company understood that Indian Princes and the people were not satisfied with their shady policy. So, they stop the annexation process and also avoided interference in state matters of those kingdoms. During the rule of Lord Lytton in 1876, the British Queen was declared the Empress of India and hence India was declared as British’s dominion. Just after the announcement, the country was separated into two parts – one was British India under the direct rule of Viceroy and Princely States which were indirectly under the control of the British Crown.

The Princely States were formed with the kingdoms where princes accepted the suzerainty of British Paramountcy and in return British promised to give them certain leverage while controlling the state indirectly.

What Were the Problems of Integration Princely States in India?

Despite the discussions and transfer of power, the attitude of the British towards the Princely States remained similar. As per the Wavell Plan, all the Princely States in India are confirmed to be independent even after Indian Independence. At that time the Cabinet Mission Plan was announced on a similar line as the former, but it supported the independence of Precisely States even after the Independence of India. This series of the event made all the princes of these states satisfied, but Congress was not happy with the decision.

In June 1947, the Mountbatten Plan was announced which states that there will be the Integration Princely States where the states are liberated to join either Pakistan Domicile or India Union, according to its geographical border.

During that time, India had around 565 Princely States, of which some were small and others were large according to its area. Most of the Princely States agreed to integrate into Pakistan and Indian subcontinent, but the states on the border posed issues in the integration method. There were some states that refused to sign the agreement or instrument of accession to join

Indian and this includes Bhopal, Travancore, Junagarh, Jammu and Kashmir and Jodhpur. So, the liability to accede these states to join India was entrusted to VP Menon and Sardar Patel.

What if India Failed to Integrate the Princely State?

If the Princely States still existed in India, then India could never be considered as the Democratic, sovereign and republic country. There would be small kingdoms across India ruled by respective kings and several border conflicts would have occurred amongst these kingdoms, therefore leading to political unrest.

So, a country with such small kingdoms won’t be capable to become a united republic that the country is now. If the Integration Princely States would have failed, then India won’t be able to become the largest democracy of the World as it is now. After integration, the first election helped in 1952.